Joplin Regional Artists Coalition

Board Meeting

Jan. 8, 2019


Attending: Steve Doerr, Laura Lowry-Greene, Andrew Batcheller, Marta Churchwell, and Brenda Sears Hayes


A motion was made by Steve Doerr and seconded by Laura Lowry-Greene to accept the minutes of the December board meeting. The motion was unanimously approved.




Marta Churchwell presented a report on the December JRAC Coffee Talk. She noted that it included a brainstorming session on suggestions for JRAC activities for the coming year. They included expansion of exhibits into Northwest Arkansas with member contacts available for this in Bentonville and Eureka Springs; a themed exhibit focusing on local/area history, perhaps Route 66; and a “re-homing” sale of artwork that artists have been unable to sell or no longer want. 


Emily Rose reported that the most recent issue of the newsletter was sent out. It was noted that the deadline for members to submit information on their exhibits or other art activities is the 25th of each month. The information may be submitted to




The date for drop-off for artwork for the artCentral JRAC Membership Show was set for 2 to 5 p.m. Sunday, Jan. 27, at artCentral. Brenda Sears Hayes and Laura Lowry-Greene agreed to help process the entries during the drop-off. Pickup of artwork from the exhibit at Buttonwood Art Space was set for 1 to 3 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 2, at Andrew Batcheller’s studio at 21st and Connor.


Plans were finalized for the annual General Membership Meeting, which will be held from 6 to 8 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 16, at the Joplin Public Library. The agenda was set as follows: Review of the budget and the 2018 year activities; election of new board members with each candidate given two minutes to speak; and acceptance of suggestions for JRAC activities in 2019. The follow slate of board candidates will be presented:

  • Completion of a one-year, unexpired term: Brenda Sears Hayes
  • Three, three-year seats: Angel Brame, Michelle Knight, Sandra Parrill, and Chadan Tomlin


The next meeting of the board is set for 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 12, in the conference room of the Joseph Newman Innovation Center, 407 S. Pennsylvania.